Home > Block RockiT 15 - Machine Quilter > Customer feedback

Block RockiT 15 - Machine Quilter

 
(19 reviews)  

5 stars
 13 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!


You are viewing 5-stars reviews (see all reviews)

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
13 results found
Show results 1 - 13
Mr. Brenda Tomlinson
Jun 23, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I want to thank Jameson for all his help. I never quilted before I went to a class on how to make a quilt, I LOVED IT. I started looking for a quilting machine(I couldn't believe the prices) it took me about 6 months of research on all quilting machines, I finally narrowed it down to three. I called Jameson 3 times to ask questions, he was never pushy about buying he just answered my questions (he is the best). I was finally ready and had the money, I called Jameson of course to ask another question and I decided to go with Kathy Quilts. I am so glad I did. When I got my machine I was so excited, it is everything I hoped it would be. I am learning a lot about quilting and I love it. Thank you Kathy Quilts and most of all thank you Jameson for all your help and understanding. I would recommend any one looking for a quilting machine to check out Kathy Quilts. They are a company that stands behind there product. Thank you again

Advantages: Easy to use and understand. If problems just call them and they will help you out in a heart beat.

Disadvantages: Kathy does not put out enough videos for learning quilting skills, Please do more videos on you tube.
I like the ones that are out but they are to few. NEED MORE of your great teaching talents
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mrs. Linda Curry
Mar 11, 2017
I was one of the first BR owners three years ago this month, having purchased at the Lancaster Quilt show in March of 2014! It was the best investment I have made in regards to my quilting. I visit Lynn and Kathy every year at Lancaster. I had a problem, which was only once, and Lynn sent me to Grace Co. right away. They were wonderful in solving my problem. I have done 15" blocks for a customer and they turned out beautiful. I did them half at a time.

The Grace frame has been perfect for me as I am short. I also float quilts instead of rolling on the backing some of the time. I don't even need to use the long clamps on the front rail most of the time. I've done 19 quilts in the last year on my BR. Each time I change the bobbin I only oil the hook race, I will also oil the machine when it starts getting noisier.

Advantages: I can do anything on this frame that I want. I have done 15" blocks for a customer and they turned out beautiful. I did them half at a time. I don't need a big expensive quilter to have my quilts turn out beautifully.

Disadvantages: I can't think of any disadvantages to owning the Block RockiT. While I thought maybe a deeper machine would be good, a post on the Block RockiT Yahoo Group made me realize I have short arms so a 21" throat might be a stretch for me.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mrs. Lorraine Kovar
Feb 25, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I loved the Block RockiT so much I bought two. I have a sit down table and one on a frame. I have not had any major problems at all. I am still learning how to quilt on the frame version but the sit down is just like a regular sewing machine with more throat room. Only time I have had tension issues is when I attempted to use two different threads. It didn't like that. Changed to the same thread in top and bobbin and I was sailing along. The few issues I have had were taken care of by the stellar customer service at Kathy Quilts. Most issues were me not understanding or me doing it wrong. Jamieson is very patient and will keep explaining what is needed to make you happy.

Advantages: Both machines are easy to handle. I do wish it was easier to get the bobbin in but that is my complaint with my regular sewing machine! I can't wait to retire so I can quilt more often. The 15" throat will allow me to quilt just about any quilt that I do. I don't do 12" - 14" quilt blocks on point but I am betting I could quilt those as well. It would just require more planning. The stitches are smooth and I haven't had an issue with bobbin thread nesting or skipping.

Disadvantages: The only disadvantage is the instruction booklet. Sometimes it is not clear. This is how I got to meet Jamieson by phone! I think it assumes knowledge that quilters may not have. It might make sense if you know the machine but when you first get it be sure to take the time to really understand what the instructions say. Then it will be smooth sailing.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mrs. Joanne Cimo
Jan 3, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Set up my Block Rockit yesterday. I am in love. Still playing with tension but certainly not the nightmare people have made it out to be. Looking pretty good already! Looking forward to many years of use with my new toy.

Advantages: Can be used on my Grace SR2 frame, which is the biggest frame I have room for. Great amount of quilting area for a mid arm machine. Seems very well made.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Donna Coakley
Apr 16, 2014
I have had some time to do some practicing and real quilting on my new Block RockiT. I named her Bonnie.....My Bonnie BRI. And she is that. Everything worked perfectly. I was ready for some issues with tension, as almost every new machine has something, but I only had to adjust the bobbin with a 5 minute turn on that screw and then only a half a revolution on the top tension. As far as I can tell, it is making a perfect stitch with my essentials pro thread from Connecting Threads. I love how the stitch regulator comes to a full stop when I do. The Grace Sure Stitch with my Juki could not do that. The software to change settings is so easy to use, also. I have the new Start Right 2 frame and the BRI glides around very easily and smoothly. This is going to be an excellent machine for me for a long time!!! Thanks, Lynn and Kathy for all your hard work in developing the Block RockiT. It is living up to all its advertising, and that is amazing! Donna and Bonnie in Elk Grove CA

Advantages: trustworthy responsive customer service!, easy to use software, ability to change buttons for right or left handed quilters, wonderful stitch regulator, separate bobbin winder motor, easy access when changing bobbin, clear and simple directions in the owners manual, beautiful stitch with thread I like, outstanding machine especially at this price!

Disadvantages: Compared to my Juki 98Q, I miss the tool holder on the carriage handles and my thread cutter, but the big longarm machines don't have these either, so...no disadvantages.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Judy Rilling
Apr 15, 2014
My Block Rockit arrived today!!!!! I already threw a quilt on the frame and zipped on through it!! It was very easy to operate and is everything I hoped for!! Thank you Lynn and Kathy!!!

Advantages: 14 1/2 glorious inches of throat space. Easy, front loading, super big bobbin. Bright LED light on the workspace. Needle up/down button.
etc!!

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Jolene Grove
Apr 11, 2014
I recieved my BRT (Block RockiT 14+) last week and have been practicing. This machine is absolutely wonderful! I have tried different threads and the machine sews beautifully. I am sooo happy that I pre-ordered this beauty!

Advantages: Where do I start? Great price so it is affordable, easy buttons on the handles, stitch regulator is awesome with baste, precise and cruise features, great separate bobbin winder with the huge M bobbin, bright lighting, easy setup, and it could actually be listed as a 15", and a large harp. I am sure I am forgetting something that I love about her!

Disadvantages: No disadvantages
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Lynn
Apr 10, 2014
The Block RockiT is shipping!!!! Several people have received their machines and they love them. We are so excited

Advantages: When we were at MQS in Wichita Kansas, and AQS in Lancaster Pennsylvania, the comment we heard the most was that the Block RockiT was really easy to quilt with. It was easy to move around and had a great stitch. The price was a huge factor as well.


Disadvantages: Shipping was an issue but now things are rolling!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mrs. Jody Hoeffner
Feb 3, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Ok !!! I'm gonna do this thing!! Exactly what I'm looking for! The customer service is excellent! I'm very excited about the block rockit... And I'm all in. Somebody bought the first singer right? The first iPhone.... The first Malsam terracer!!! Just saying!!! As my friend jill says..."you only live once!" As I say... Life is no dress rehearsal!,,

Advantages: Cost!

Disadvantages: Well... May have some"kinks". We shall see!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Marie
Jan 30, 2014
The reviews seem to be written by folks who do not yet have this machine and therefore haven't used it --- are there any reviews from actual users?

Hi Marie,

We have one of the Production models that we are taking to Stylish Fabrics in Logan Utah so some of the machine quilters that work there can try it out. We will have them post their comments about the Block RockiT 14+. This model works even better than the pre-production model that we were playing with earlier. This machine quilts so smoothly. It is everything we hoped it would be for a machine at this price point. - Lynn - KathyQuilts
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (1)
Mrs. Cobi Lee Henry
Jan 24, 2014
I can say that Lynn has been gracious, helpful, and knowledgeable and more than patient with me! I have the Juki TL200Qi, on a grace frame, and ws frustrated with the "space issue", yet could not "squeeze out" with this just being a hobby and something for friends and family the $$ for a larger head/throat machine....until NOW. I can hardly wait for it to come!!! I know I will be delighted!

Advantages: Coming Ruler base/rear handles available for the Pattern Perfect/and the laser
!4+" of throat space so it will allow more room for freestyle feathers etc. (I am very excited about that)
Support from a "team" that loves quilting and recognized the need for a quality well built machine with more "creative space" for those of us who desire the freedom and creativity a longer throat will give without the high price. Lynn and Kathy have done something for US! I pray they prosper in their efforts, and I think too this will bring the younger gals in, and we certainly do not want to see this "art" diminish because of $$, yet at the same time, I want to see Kathy and Lynn do well in this as well. They have A+ Character. Also this works on the Grace Frame which I have already, BUT bought another model to transfer my JUKI to. I am very pleased with all the help I have received so I can make good decisions, and since I have only had the Juki less than 9 months, and wasn't sure if I wanted to sell it, this has been a great opportunity to get the smaller frame, so I still can include friends to come "play". And hopefully teach some gals as well, as I do not want this art to die.

Disadvantages: At this time I see none for myself,I don't know if for those who like the idea of a computer run machine will feel the same, or if this can be adapted, but for those of us who like freestyle/pantograms/ruler work, this machine appears to have all we might need, and I suspect will even for the "somtime make for $$ quilter".
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Judy
Nov 21, 2013
I have been researching quilting machines for the last few months. Kathy Quilts comes up quite often on message boards as the place to get advice and information. To now have a machine designed by you? Can not wait!

Advantages: A quilting machine designed by people who actually USE them.

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (2)
Lynn
Nov 21, 2013
This machine is perfect for anyone that has a Grace Frame, wants to buy a Grace Frame, or wants to move up from a shortarm machine to one that will do what they always wanted to do with their machine frame.

Advantages: Will fit on most of the Grace Frames so all of those frame owners that don't want to get a new frame can use the one they already have.

Disadvantages: none I can think of
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (7) / No (2)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!